In December 2017, NewTown Macon and Main Street Macon won a grant from the Downtown Challenge Fund of the Community Foundation of Central Georgia to install public art pieces in the urban core and to also research best practices for establishing a public art process that benefits the entire community. Main Street Macon and NewTown Macon partnered with the Macon Arts Alliance and Commissioner Virgil Watkins to spearhead the effort to establish a public art policy for Macon-Bibb County. In November of 2018, the Macon-Bibb County Commission voted to approve a Public Art Ordinance for Macon-Bibb County. The Public Art Ordinance established a Public Art Commission that will review applications for public art installations throughout the county, approve public art applications, and provide recommendations to artists. Macon Arts Alliance will provide organizational and administrative support to the Public Art Commission as Macon-Bibb County’s designated arts agency.

Bright City

Bright City, a major public art experience, brings light and photography to Macon's beautifully unique alleyways making them an easier, more vibrant way to navigate downtown.

Bright City features a curated group of local and national photographers who have shown that through their lens they can transform the everyday into something curious and illustrate the emotional state of Macon. Photographs will be turned into light boxes and presented along the brick path of Macon's 2nd Street Lane.

Bright City is curated & produced by Dashboard
Presented by NewTown Macon
Made possible with support from the Community Foundation of Central Georgia 


2020-2021 Featured Artists

Chance Allen, David Batterman, Chris Burns, Ashley Conlon, Frances de La Rosa, Michael Dove, Sydney Foster, Rachel Gambill, Kristin Hanlin, Curtis Hertwig, Zhairie’ Hightower, Dsto Moore, Matthew Odom, Mark Thompson, and Ruth Stanford

2019-2020 Featured Artists

Maryann Bates, Camylla Battani, Stephanie Dowda, Brandon English, Sydney Foster, Curtis Hertwig, Nathan Jones, Matt Odom, Matt Smith, Andrew Turner, Jessica Whitley

Scroll to Top